NFFE Secretary-Treasurer Erwin Elected Co-Chair of Federal Workers Alliance


Get the bulletin board-ready story, here.

Following a successful five-year tenure as the Chairman of the Federal Workers Alliance (FWA), NFFE National President William R. Dougan recently announced the resignation of his Chairmanship ahead of his anticipated retirement following NFFE’s 50th National Convention this September. And following a vote by FWA coalition partners, NFFE’s Randy Erwin has been elected to co-chair the FWA alongside National Association of Government Employee’s (NAGE) Sarah Suszczyk. The two will continue the FWA’s strong legacy of relentless advocacy on behalf of federal employees.

Founded in the wake of the National Security Personnel System repeal in 2010, the FWA is comprised of 19 Unions representing over 300,000 federal employees throughout the country. The coalition has spearheaded the issues of federal pay adjustments, adequate agency funding levels, protecting federal pensions, expanding identify theft protections and a host of other issues important to the federal workforce at large in Washington, DC.

Secretary-Treasurer (S/T) Erwin has a history with the FWA since its creation; much of the initial work to assemble the diverse coalition coming from S/T Erwin when he was the National Legislative Director of NFFE. The legislative expertise S/T Erwin developed in his decade as NFFE’s National Legislative Director pairs perfectly with the federal agency experience of NAGE’s Sarah Suszczyk–a long-time force on national Agency policy committees.

“The FWA is in great hands with the election of these two strong co-chairs in Erwin and Suszczyk,” said NFFE National President and outgoing FWA Chairman William R. Dougan. “As Unionists, we know that we are stronger together, which is why the FWA’s advocacy is so critical for federal employees. The combined voice of 300,000 hard-working federal civil servants breaks through the noise in Washington, DC and resonates in the halls of Congress and in the White House.”

NFFE Secretary-Treasurer Randy Erwin addresses 2015 IAM Legislative Conference attendees

Get the bulletin board-ready story, here.